Retail Crowd

Complete British News World

A photo finish was set at the finish line in Paris

A photo finish was set at the finish line in Paris

Jonas Vingegaard has officially won the 2023 Tour de France road bike race. Denmark’s Jumbo-Visma bike can now claim to be a two-time Tour winner, after 2022 it managed to win the yellow jersey again this year. In Sunday’s closing stage, Belgium’s Jordi Meeus became the first little surprise, holding a few centimeters ahead of green jersey Jasper Philipsen in the sprint.

Stage 21 started from Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, and this time the finish was also on Paris’ most famous avenue, the Champs-Elysées. The first half of the 115km stage was all about celebration and champagne. When the field reached Paris, attempts to escape began: Tadezh Bougar (UAE team), who was second in the total, also tried, but the field did not let him go home, so he decided to go to the stadium as expected.

Mathieu van der Poel (Alpecin-Dekonink) once again led his teammate Philipsen perfectly, but Dylan Groenewegen (Jaiko Ala) surprised the sprinter, who won four stages in this year’s Tour, with a long sprint. Meeus really took advantage of this, because even though Philipsen was close to making up the bike length, Meeus eventually pushed his bike at a better pace and crossed the finish line about ten centimeters back. Groenewegen came in third.

Crossing the finish line a little further back, Vingegaard and his teammates celebrated together. The 26-year-old Danish cyclist won the race with a time of 82:05:42. Pogačar second hit him with 7 minutes 29 seconds. Another competitor from the UAE, Britain’s Adam Yates, came third, almost 11 minutes behind. Jasper Philipsen won the points race green jersey, and Giulio Ciccone (Liddell Trek) won the mountain points race. Pogačar won the white jersey, that is, the under-25 competition.

READ  The 22-year-old Bak midfielder continues in Turkey - Hello

Next year, due to the Olympics in Paris, the Tour de France finish line will not – for the first time in the race’s history – be in the French capital. Instead, the 2024 Tour will conclude with a 35.2km individual time trial between Monaco and Nice. The full course for next year’s Tour de France will not be presented until the fall, but it has already been announced that the big start will be in Florence on June 29, and the first three stages will be held in Italy. (MTI)

Stage 21, Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines – Paris, Champs-Elysées, 115.1km:

  • 1. Jordi Mews (Belgium, Bora Hansgrohe) 2:56:13
  • 2. Jasper Philipsen (Belgian, Alpecin-Deceuninck) at the same time
  • 3. Dylan Groenewegen (Dutch, Jayco-AlUla) ai

The final result of the compound:

  • 1. Jonas Vingegaard (Denmark, Jumbo-Visma) 82:05:42
  • 2. Tadej Pogačar (Slovenian, UAE National Team) + 7:29 min
  • 3. Adam Yates (UK, UAE Team UAE) + 10:56AM
  • 4. Simon Yates (UK, Jaico Ala) + 12:23AM
  • 5. Carlos Rodríguez (Spain, Ineos-Grenadiers) + 13:17 p.m.