Retail Crowd

Complete British News World

New Chrome will alert you if it detects suspicious extensions

Starting with version 91, Google will add new features to your browser’s advanced protection settings to filter malicious downloads and make smarter plug-in choices.

Google is working on the Enhanced Safe Browsing feature for Chrome, which will protect users from version 91 even when they install new extensions from the Chrome Web Store: a new dialog will alert you if the selected program is Enhanced Safe Browsing. trusted. This is said to be an improvement in the management of developers who publish extensions, which could be an obstacle for developers to fully comply with Google’s policies for several months before they are approved.

Safe Browsing was introduced by Google last year as an enabling feature to protect against phishing and other malware, creating a kind of second round of protection against unfiltered devices before a user visits affected sites. With the Advanced Protection feature in Hungarian Settings, Chrome shares more security-related information with Google, checks for spoofed URLs and, if possible, listens for phishing pages.

We can send data for safer networks

According to Google’s own data, nearly three-quarters of all extensions currently fully meet Chrome Store developer program policies, which the association says will increase once newcomers arrive with a stricter rating order. Setting up the current framework is part of an effort Google has been trying to clean up its store of scammers and phishing extensions for years. These programs have so far only succeeded in part: after a major cleanup last August, for example, millions of users were verified to have installed dozens of malicious plugins.

READ  An update for The Last of Us 2 nextgen has arrived unexpectedly, which improves the experience a lot

Another novelty is related to downloading files that are considered risky: the user can likewise request alerts about suspicious files, which can be analyzed further. This will, after the first scan, look as if the files will be uploaded by Google to its own system, where they will be scanned again in near real time, based on static and dynamic classifiers. After a short wait, Chrome will notify you if it is considered risky to download the scanned files to the user’s computer, and the materials uploaded for scanning will be automatically deleted. It should be noted that, like other functions, it is possible to skip the selection or ignore the signals.

For users, it is good to keep in mind that after you sign in to Chrome, Enhanced Safe Browsing temporarily shares certain information associated with your Google account. However, the company stated that according to its own statistics, this has already reduced the rate of successful phishing attempts by 35%, which may be a good reason to allow private protection. By the way, the stable version of Chrome 91 was released at the end of May, and the next release is expected in July.